Skip to content

The Perils of being loved…

September 3, 2012

Yesterday I realised that being loved could get dangerous. But I haven’t done much with that knowledge and you’ll see why…

A bit of a background first –

Anyone who has seen my other blog would know that I have a thing for animals (not reptiles though)…love most of them. So naturally, I get along well with the stray dogs of our colony. I don’t think there are too many people who actually pet them. Some are scared, some disgusted and some just don’t like them around. There are a few who love them but then as I said, that’s like only a handful.

So on with the story – Since I seem to resemble a baby elephant, I thought a bit of exercise should help and started with a 45 min walk a few months back. It didn’t help much, didn’t gain any weight but didn’t lose either. But it did help me make a few friends πŸ™‚ .

Obviously they were of the canine category…a pack of dogs, all young, some adolescent, a few pups too.Β  Needless to say, I used to have a lot of fun and would really look forward to those walks (weight be damned!). After a few days, some of them started paying us an occasional visit (which wasn’t amusing considering that my mother wasn’t exactly fond of them).

This is a picture of two bitches who used to visit us once in a while. The one in the right is still around and over-possessive about me. She doesn’t want to share me with anybody…by that I mean any other dog.

So what happened after that?

Well, folks in our colony decided to get rid of the dogs (no, not kill them…just leave them elsewhere…somewhere far from where they won’t be able to find their way back home) and called in the Municipal Corporation guys to do so. The inexperienced pups were caught and taken away but four adult dogs couldn’t be caught. One of them is a female who is (and always was) over-possessive about me.

Enter- a (not so handsome) black, lean, healthy male. He (lets call him Blackie) did not belong to our colony and wasn’t welcomed by most dogs. I found him to be a shy, likeable fellow. Naturally, I started petted him too, gave him biscuits and loved his company too.Β  Much later I heard that he had apparently bitten somebody (I wonder why? I am sure that person must have instigated him in some way…Blackie is such a sweet dog!).

So what happened two days back???

Well, I went for my usual walk and saw Blackie run towards me, he was almost jumping with joy (especially since he had seen me after two looong weeks). And just as I was petting him, the fawn coloured bitch came along (showing equal enthusiasm if not more). So, I started petting them both. To my horror, they started fighting with each other and I found my hand almost bitten in their brawl…phew! I had no clue that I had become that bitch’s territory…and frankly, I don’t know how to resolve this issue. And so, I keep wondering…am I going to get bitten in their fight over me…hmmm.

A lot of love can get dangerous! πŸ˜‰

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2012 12:48 pm

    you do NOT resemble a baby elephant and yep “a lot of love CAN get dangerous!” Thanks so much for visiting me! I am now following you!

  2. October 2, 2012 8:06 am

    Thanks for following my blog. We’ve been nominated you for A Wonderful Team Member Readership Award. Congratulations πŸ™‚

  3. October 10, 2012 9:18 pm

    Hi, and thank you for stopping by my blog again with your generous β€œLike`s” on my photos, it`s truly appreciated!
    Happy to follow your blog – I love your writing and the love and passion you have for animals!
    Best from
    Vibeke,
    a`la Billy the Red cat πŸ™‚

    • panoramaofthoughts permalink*
      October 11, 2012 5:26 pm

      Thanks for liking and following me too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

